Raphaël Vouilloz | architecture student EPFL

fr | de | en

Overview Works About

Tartan

Active housing

Sustainable is beautiful 2018

Architecture contest for students

December 2018

< back to top >

Michael Göhring

Raphaël Vouilloz

Sustainable is beautiful is an annual competition organized by the Laboratory of Architecture and Sustainable Technologies (LAST) at EPFL. The challenge of this edition, Active Housing, is to integrate a photovoltaic panel system developed by the laboratory into the facade. The program is a set of mixed housing to be designed on a plot of land in front of the school.

Located in the declination of the land, the tartan project integrates into the existing district by taking the form of a longitudinal building that completes the built context and benefits from a large south-facing facade. In direct response to its context of small houses, the volume developed over three and then two floors, taking advantage of the land to break its mass effect thanks to earthworks. BIPV panels are the central theme of the competition, producing energy and giving the building its character. Designed in wood prefabrication to reduce the grey energy of the construction, the project is also intended to be sustainable in the future life of the building, because the modular structure and the construction system allow great flexibility in terms of interior design and the use of space.

The first prize, worth CHF 4,500, was awarded to the "The Alchemist" project proposed by students Grégory DOS SANTOS, Sébastien LORENZINI, Nordine MAHMOUDI and Tobias RICHTERICH.

Click here to go to the competition page and discover the jury's report.

Sustainable is beautiful is an annual competition organized by the Laboratory of Architecture and Sustainable Technologies (LAST) at EPFL. The challenge of this edition, Active Housing, is to integrate a photovoltaic panel system developed by the laboratory into the facade. The program is a set of mixed housing to be designed on a plot of land in front of the school.

Located in the declination of the land, the tartan project integrates into the existing district by taking the form of a longitudinal building that completes the built context and benefits from a large south-facing facade. In direct response to its context of small houses, the volume developed over three and then two floors, taking advantage of the land to break its mass effect thanks to earthworks. BIPV panels are the central theme of the competition, producing energy and giving the building its character. Designed in wood prefabrication to reduce the grey energy of the construction, the project is also intended to be sustainable in the future life of the building, because the modular structure and the construction system allow great flexibility in terms of interior design and the use of space.

The first prize, worth CHF 4,500, was awarded to the "The Alchemist" project proposed by students Grégory DOS SANTOS, Sébastien LORENZINI, Nordine MAHMOUDI and Tobias RICHTERICH.

Click here to go to the competition page and discover the jury's report.

PV panels to be used as desired in the project ©Olivier Wavre

Photo : Olivier Wavre

Sustainable is beautiful 2018 : Active Housing
Sustainable is beautiful 2018 : Active Housing
Sustainable is beautiful 2018 : Active Housing
Sustainable is beautiful 2018 : Active Housing
Sustainable is beautiful 2018 : Active Housing
Sustainable is beautiful 2018 : Active Housing
Sustainable is beautiful 2018 : Active Housing
Sustainable is beautiful 2018 : Active Housing

Bachelor's degree projects at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (EPFL).
2015 - 2018
All rights reserved.
Conception and webdesign Raphaël Vouilloz.

Raphaël Vouilloz | étudiant EPFL en architecture

fr | de | en

Aperçu Liste des projets Présentation

Tartan

Active housing

Sustainable is beautiful 2018

Concours étudiant

Décembre 2018

< haut de page >

Michael Göhring

Raphaël Vouilloz

Sustainable is beautiful est un concours organisé chaque année à l'EPFL par le LAST (Laboratory of Architecture and Sustainable Technologies). L'enjeu de cette édition, Active Housing, est l'intégration en façade d'un système de panneaux photovoltaiques développé par le laboratoire. Le programme est un ensemble de logements mixtes à dessiner sur un terrain en face de l'école.

Implanté dans la déclinaison du terrain, le projet tartan s'intègre au quartier existant en prenant la forme d'un bâtiment longitudinal qui termine le contexte bâti et profite d'une large façade orientée sud. En réponse directe à son contexte composé de maisonnettes, le volume se développe sur trois puis deux étages, tirant profit du terrain pour rompre son effet de masse grâce à des terrassements. Thème central du concours, les panneaux BIPV produisent de l'énergie et donnent son caractère au bâtiment. Pensé en préfabrication bois pour réduire l'énergie grise de la construction, le projet se veut aussi durable dans la vie future du bâtiment, car la structure modulaire et le système constructif permettent une grande flexibilité vis-à-vis de l'aménagement intérieur et de l'utilisation des espaces.

Le premier prix, d’une valeur de 4'500.- CHF, a été attribué au projet « L’Alchimiste » proposé par les étudiants Grégory DOS SANTOS, Sébastien LORENZINI, Nordine MAHMOUDI et Tobias RICHTERICH.

Cliquez ici pour vous rendre sur la page du concours et découvrir le rapport du jury.

Sustainable is beautiful est un concours organisé chaque année à l'EPFL par le LAST (Laboratory of Architecture and Sustainable Technologies). L'enjeu de cette édition, Active Housing, est l'intégration en façade d'un système de panneaux photovoltaiques développé par le laboratoire. Le programme est un ensemble de logements mixtes à dessiner sur un terrain en face de l'école.

Implanté dans la déclinaison du terrain, le projet tartan s'intègre au quartier existant en prenant la forme d'un bâtiment longitudinal qui termine le contexte bâti et profite d'une large façade orientée sud. En réponse directe à son contexte composé de maisonnettes, le volume se développe sur trois puis deux étages, tirant profit du terrain pour rompre son effet de masse grâce à des terrassements. Thème central du concours, les panneaux BIPV produisent de l'énergie et donnent son caractère au bâtiment. Pensé en préfabrication bois pour réduire l'énergie grise de la construction, le projet se veut aussi durable dans la vie future du bâtiment, car la structure modulaire et le système constructif permettent une grande flexibilité vis-à-vis de l'aménagement intérieur et de l'utilisation des espaces.

Le premier prix, d’une valeur de 4'500.- CHF, a été attribué au projet « L’Alchimiste » proposé par les étudiants Grégory DOS SANTOS, Sébastien LORENZINI, Nordine MAHMOUDI et Tobias RICHTERICH.

Cliquez ici pour vous rendre sur la page du concours et découvrir le rapport du jury.

Panneaux PV à utiliser à choix dans le projet ©Olivier Wavre

Photo : Olivier Wavre

Sustainable is beautiful 2018 : Active Housing
Sustainable is beautiful 2018 : Active Housing
Sustainable is beautiful 2018 : Active Housing
Sustainable is beautiful 2018 : Active Housing
Sustainable is beautiful 2018 : Active Housing
Sustainable is beautiful 2018 : Active Housing
Sustainable is beautiful 2018 : Active Housing
Sustainable is beautiful 2018 : Active Housing

Projets de Bachelor à l'Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL).
2015 - 2018
Tous droits réservés.
Conception et webdesign Raphaël Vouilloz.