Raphaël Vouilloz | architecture student EPFL

fr | de | en

Overview Works About

From the Ceiling

Underground hotel

Professor: Dominique Perrault

Assistants: Richard Nguyen, Juan Fernández Andrino

EPFL Bachelor III et IV

June 2017

< back to top >

Lucas Balet

Stéphanie Pitteloud

Raphaël Vouilloz

SUBLAB is the EPFL's underground architecture laboratory. It is directed by the French architect Dominique Perrault, who developped the concept of groundscape (underground landscape). He has thus built many semi-underground buildings that dialogue with the relationship to the land and the below of the cities. (National Library of France, Seoul Women's University, etc.)

This lab ran one of the five second-year studios, so this was my main project in 2016-2017. That year, we were invited to participate in the internatinal studios of the first Seoul architecture Biennale. The objective was then to suggest, in 100-metre sections and in parallel with a Korean class, conceptual reassignments of an underground pedestrian gallery in the heart of the capital.

Our group, located at the foot of Zaha Hadid's DDP, questioned the role of the ceiling, suggesting to invest it to generate a new space. First imagined as a program hidden in an inverted topography (game room, nightclub), we then drew it as a pixelization of more open rooms on the gallery and hosting a hotel.

SUBLAB is the EPFL's underground architecture laboratory. It is directed by the French architect Dominique Perrault, who developped the concept of groundscape (underground landscape). He has thus built many semi-underground buildings that dialogue with the relationship to the land and the below of the cities. (National Library of France, Seoul Women's University, etc.)

This lab ran one of the five second-year studios, so this was my main project in 2016-2017. That year, we were invited to participate in the internatinal studios of the first Seoul architecture Biennale. The objective was then to suggest, in 100-metre sections and in parallel with a Korean class, conceptual reassignments of an underground pedestrian gallery in the heart of the capital.

Our group, located at the foot of Zaha Hadid's DDP, questioned the role of the ceiling, suggesting to invest it to generate a new space. First imagined as a program hidden in an inverted topography (game room, nightclub), we then drew it as a pixelization of more open rooms on the gallery and hosting a hotel.

From the ceiling : final drawings
From the ceiling : final drawings
From the ceiling : render
From the ceiling : section model
From the ceiling : final drawings
From the ceiling : models ©Stéphanie Pitteloud

Photos : Stéphanie Pitteloud

From the ceiling : constructive section

Bachelor's degree projects at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (EPFL).
2015 - 2018
All rights reserved.
Conception and webdesign Raphaël Vouilloz.

Raphaël Vouilloz | étudiant EPFL en architecture

fr | de | en

Aperçu Liste des projets Présentation

From the Ceiling

Hôtel sous-terrain

Professeur: Dominique Perrault

Assistants: Richard Nguyen, Juan Fernández Andrino

EPFL Bachelor III et IV

Juin 2017

< haut de page >

Lucas Balet

Stéphanie Pitteloud

Raphaël Vouilloz

Le SUBLAB est le laboratoire d'architecture sous-terraine de l'EPFL. Il est dirigé par l'architecte français Dominique Perrault, à l'origine du concept de Groundscape (paysage sous-terrain). Il a ainsi construit de nombreux édifices semi-enterrés qui dialoguent avec le rapport à la terre et au dessous des villes (bibliothèque nationale de France, université féminine de Séoul, etc.)

Ce laboratoire dirigeait l'un des cinq ateliers de projets à choix de deuxième année et ce fut donc mon principal travail en 2016-2017. Cette année-là, nous avons été invités à participer aux Internatinal Studios de la première biennale d'architecture de Séoul. L'objectif consistait alors à proposer, par tronçons de 100 mètres et en parallèle avec une classe coréenne, des réaffectations conceptuelles d'une galerie piétonne sous-terraine au coeur de la capitale.

Notre groupe, situé au pied du DDP de Zaha Hadid, avons questionné le rôle du plafond, en proposant de l'investir pour y générer un nouvel espace. D'abord imaginé comme un programme dissimulé dans une topographie inversée (salle de jeux, boîte de nuit), nous l'avons ensuite dessiné comme une pixellisation de pièces plus ouvertes sur la galerie et accueillant un hôtel.

Le SUBLAB est le laboratoire d'architecture sous-terraine de l'EPFL. Il est dirigé par l'architecte français Dominique Perrault, à l'origine du concept de Groundscape (paysage sous-terrain). Il a ainsi construit de nombreux édifices semi-enterrés qui dialoguent avec le rapport à la terre et au dessous des villes (bibliothèque nationale de France, université féminine de Séoul, etc.)

Ce laboratoire dirigeait l'un des cinq ateliers de projets à choix de deuxième année et ce fut donc mon principal travail en 2016-2017. Cette année-là, nous avons été invités à participer aux Internatinal Studios de la première biennale d'architecture de Séoul. L'objectif consistait alors à proposer, par tronçons de 100 mètres et en parallèle avec une classe coréenne, des réaffectations conceptuelles d'une galerie piétonne sous-terraine au coeur de la capitale.

Notre groupe, situé au pied du DDP de Zaha Hadid, avons questionné le rôle du plafond, en proposant de l'investir pour y générer un nouvel espace. D'abord imaginé comme un programme dissimulé dans une topographie inversée (salle de jeux, boîte de nuit), nous l'avons ensuite dessiné comme une pixellisation de pièces plus ouvertes sur la galerie et accueillant un hôtel.

From the ceiling : planches finales
From the ceiling : planches finales
From the ceiling : rendu
From the ceiling : maquette coupe
From the ceiling : planches finales
From the ceiling : maquettes ©Stéphanie Pitteloud

Photos : Stéphanie Pitteloud

From the ceiling : coupe perspective constructive

Projets de Bachelor à l'Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL).
2015 - 2018
Tous droits réservés.
Conception et webdesign Raphaël Vouilloz.