Raphaël Vouilloz | architecture student EPFL

fr | de | en

Overview Works About

Woman tearing a script

3d reconstruction of a painting

Professor: Nicola Braghieri

EPFL Bachelor V

January 2018

< back to top >

Piero Fumagalli

Raphaël Vouilloz

The FIRE III course (figuration et représentation de l'architecture) is given by the LAPIS laboratory (laboratoire des arts pour la science).
The goal is to produce two believable images based on the painting of a bedroom: here "Woman Tearing a Letter" by Dirck Hals (1631). The first one aspires to a precise restitution, and the second one to an interpretation.

The first step was to construct the reverse perspective to establish the dimensions of the objects in plane and elevation. We then made a Rhino 3D modeling, added a Vray rendering with materials and a global light, and finally made a Photoshop post-production by superimposing a white model photo of the scene to obtain light effects of the true reality.
For the second image, we highlighted the dramaturgy of the lights and the letter by suggesting that the image had been made in a photography studio. We modelled all the objects on Rhino 3D ourselves and produced a Vray rendering including both materials and lights, by reproducing on software the illumination obtained in model on the first image.

Click here to the website of the laboratory.

The FIRE III course (figuration et représentation de l'architecture) is given by the LAPIS laboratory (laboratoire des arts pour la science).
The goal is to produce two believable images based on the painting of a bedroom: here "Woman Tearing a Letter" by Dirck Hals (1631). The first one aspires to a precise restitution, and the second one to an interpretation.

The first step was to construct the reverse perspective to establish the dimensions of the objects in plane and elevation. We then made a Rhino 3D modeling, added a Vray rendering with materials and a global light, and finally made a Photoshop post-production by superimposing a white model photo of the scene to obtain light effects of the true reality.
For the second image, we highlighted the dramaturgy of the lights and the letter by suggesting that the image had been made in a photography studio. We modelled all the objects on Rhino 3D ourselves and produced a Vray rendering including both materials and lights, by reproducing on software the illumination obtained in model on the first image.

Click here to the website of the laboratory.

Dirck Hales : Woman tearing a letter
Woman tearing a letter : inverse perspective
Woman tearing a letter : inverse perspective
Woman tearing a letter : inverse perspective
Woman tearing a letter : reconstruction
Woman tearing a letter : deconstruction
Woman tearing a letter : zoom
Woman tearing a letter : light tests on the physical model
Woman tearing a letter : 3d model view

Bachelor's degree projects at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (EPFL).
2015 - 2018
All rights reserved.
Conception and webdesign Raphaël Vouilloz.

Raphaël Vouilloz | étudiant EPFL en architecture

fr | de | en

Aperçu Liste des projets Présentation

Woman tearing a script

Reconstruction 3d d'une peinture

Professeur: Nicola Braghieri

EPFL Bachelor V

Janvier 2018

< haut de page >

Piero Fumagalli

Raphaël Vouilloz

Le cours FIRE III (figuration et représentation de l'architecture) est organisé par le laboratoire LAPIS (laboratoire des arts pour la science).
Le projet consiste à produire deux images vraisemblables sur la base du tableau peint d’une chambre : ici "Woman Tearing a Letter" de Dirck Hals (1631). La première vise une restitution précise, et la seconde une interprétation.

Le processus s'est fait par la construction d'une perspective inverse pour établir les dimensions des objets en plan et élévation, ensuite par une modèlisation Rhino 3D, puis un rendu de matières Vray avec une lumière globale, et enfin par une post-production Photoshop en superposant une photo de maquette blanche de la scène pour obtenir les effets de lumière.
Pour la deuxième image, nous avons souligné la dramaturgie des lumières et de la lettre en mettant en scène un studio de photographie. Nous avons modélisé nous-mêmes tous les objets sur Rhino 3D et produit un rendu Vray comprenant cette fois autant matières que lumières, en reproduisant donc sur logiciel l'éclairement obtenu en maquette sur la première image.

Vers le site du laboratoire : lapis.epfl.ch

Le cours FIRE III (figuration et représentation de l'architecture) est organisé par le laboratoire LAPIS (laboratoire des arts pour la science).
Le projet consiste à produire deux images vraisemblables sur la base du tableau peint d’une chambre : ici "Woman Tearing a Letter" de Dirck Hals (1631). La première vise une restitution précise, et la seconde une interprétation.

Le processus s'est fait par la construction d'une perspective inverse pour établir les dimensions des objets en plan et élévation, ensuite par une modèlisation Rhino 3D, puis un rendu de matières Vray avec une lumière globale, et enfin par une post-production Photoshop en superposant une photo de maquette blanche de la scène pour obtenir les effets de lumière.
Pour la deuxième image, nous avons souligné la dramaturgie des lumières et de la lettre en mettant en scène un studio de photographie. Nous avons modélisé nous-mêmes tous les objets sur Rhino 3D et produit un rendu Vray comprenant cette fois autant matières que lumières, en reproduisant donc sur logiciel l'éclairement obtenu en maquette sur la première image.

Vers le site du laboratoire : lapis.epfl.ch

Dirck Hales : Woman tearing a letter
Woman tearing a letter : perspective inverse
Woman tearing a letter : perspective inverse
Woman tearing a letter : perspective inverse
Woman tearing a letter : reconstruction
Woman tearing a letter : déconstruction
Woman tearing a letter : détail
Woman tearing a letter : essais de lumière sur la maquette physique
Woman tearing a letter : vue du modèle 3d

Projets de Bachelor à l'Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL).
2015 - 2018
Tous droits réservés.
Conception et webdesign Raphaël Vouilloz.